Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jderekc
Helper IV
Helper IV

DAX COUNT/COUNTA filtered by columns

I am new to DAX and am learning my way around, so please pardon me if I ask several questions about it.  I have attempted to look this up and have gotten a little ways to where I need to be but not exactly.  I think I am confused about how to apply a filter.

Here's the situation:

• Four separate queries used to generate the data in the report; but only need to use two for the DAX function (Products and Display).
  • I have three columns I need to filter by, as follows:
    • Customer
    • Brand
  • I want to count the columns based on if the data is unique.
  • Here's an example:
    • Customer: Big Box Buy
    • Item: Lego Big Blocks
    • Brand: Lego
    • ---
    • Item: Lego Star Wars
    • Brand: Lego
    • ---
    • Item: Surface Pro
    • Brand: Microsoft
    • ----
    • Customer: Little Shop on the Corner
    • Item: Red Bicycle
    • Brand: Trek
  • In this example, no matter the fact that the items are different, we want to look at just the customer, the brand, and the location.  We see in the first two records, the customer is "Big Box Buy" and the brand is "Lego" and the location is "Toys".  This appears twice, but I want to count it distinct as "1".  The next "Big Box Buy" store has the brand "Microsoft" and the location is "Electronics".  It appears once and only once, and thus the distinct count is "1" anyway.  This means that there are two separate entries for "Big Box Buy", both with a count of 1.  And lastly there is "Little Shop on the Corner" which appears just once and is counted just once.