Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Regular Visitor

DAX Applying measure in current month

Hello Community,

I am new to Power BI. What I'm trying to achieve is the following:

I have an Active count measure that counts distinct active employee numbers in my master data. In this timeline bar chart below, if a particular month is selected, I wanted the other charts (eg. the breakdown chart below) to reflect data in the month selected. If there is no month selected, I wanted the other charts to show the latest (max) month data in the master data.

I'm currently using the MAX function to do this. However, the problem is that in the data breakdown it is not correlating with the timeline, i.e. some old data in historical months are showing up. For example, the 2 people in Business Transformation are not in the latest month dataset; they were in last month's dataset. If I click on the 2017/Feb bar, the 2 people would not show up (which is correct), however, it does not work properly if no month is selected.

Any help is appreciated!

5 REPLIES 5

Well what is your DAX formula?  Are you using an IF or SWITCH statement logic to detect if no month is selected?

This is my DAX formula:

Actives = CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT('HR MasterData'[Personnel Number]),FILTER('HR MasterData','HR MasterData'[In or Out]="1"),FILTER(ALL('HR MasterData'),'HR MasterData'[ReportPeriod]=MAX('HR MasterData'[ReportPeriod])))