Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

DATES Table - relationship not working completely

Hi guys, I am new to BI and playing with some data. I have historical data with order history for last year (order ref, datecreated (as datetime), amount - which is loaded via a query. 

As I need monthly reporting, I created a new column with the below instruction (in Data view)  :

Month-Year Name = FORMAT('Historical FYTD'[datecreated], "YYYY-MMM")

I have then created a date table with below: 

MonthTable =
var FullCalendar = ADDCOLUMNS(Calendar(date(2017,1,1), date(2018,12,31)), "YEAR", YEAR([Date]), "Month", MONTH([Date]), "Month-Year Name", FORMAT([Date],"YYYY-MMM"), "Month Name", FORMAT([Date],"mmmm"), "Unique Date", format([Date], "dd-mmm-yyyy"))
return
SUMMARIZE(FullCalendar,[Month-Year Name])

In relationships, I have linked the date table  "FullCalendar" to the Historical FYTD data based on the "Month-Year Name" column. 

THen I created 2 tables on the canvas, one based on the historical data query (order count) with the "Month-Year name" column from the query and another one with the order count from the query and with "Month-Year name" column from the Data table. 

The count # is the same however the Month-Year no# do not match for some months. The table created with the "Month-Year name" from the data table I created returns 19 orders with blank for Month-Year. 

Not sure why this happens, can you help? 

What's the best way to create a month-year column from a datetime column and how can I create a date table with a month-year colum to be linked with the former ? 

Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
v-piga-msft
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @Anonymous,

Have you solved your problem?