Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Cazzagg
Advocate I
Advocate I

DATEDIFF question

Hi All

I am extremely new to all this so please forgive me my ignorance......

I have two date fields in my table– one for the target response date and one for actual response date  - I am trying to use DATEDIFF to take one date from the other to arrive at the number of days difference (if any)

So my statement looks like this:

NoDays = DATEDIFF ("Actual Response Date","Target Response Date",DAY)

eg Target Response Date = 11/8/15

Actual Response Date = 11/8/15 - interval = 0 day therefore  actual response was within target

Or

Target Response Date = 11/8/15

Actual Response Date = 12/8/15  - interval = 1 day. So therefore actual response was one day overdue

I changed the data type in the date fields to "whole number" (as suggested in a post I saw) and my statement seems to be accepted ok but if I use the measure in my canvas, I am getting data error re converting text to date. I have tried also changing data type on my date fields to"Date" but still no go.

I think it is the formatting on my fields but am giving up as to what to set the data type to as I have tried just about everything - though it could be my code, as I said I am very new to all this.

Can anyone out there help please?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

That sounds like a feature where Power BI is offering you some Time Intelligence over your datetime column.

It has recognised your "Actual Response Date" column is a date, and it's building a hierarchy on the fly to allow you to drill up and down on visuals that offer visuals (eg, Bar and Column).

There should be a small 'x' to allow you to remove the levels in the hierarchy.  It can be a handy feature but you don't always want it.

To learn more about DAX visit : aka.ms/practicalDAX