Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

cjc322
Frequent Visitor

DATE RANGE SLICERS TO COMPARE NETSALES OF A DATE RANGE

Hello,

I am trying to create visualizations of NETSALES based on a FROMDATE in one Slicer and a TODATE in a second slicer.

I have attempted created DATE1 and DATE2 tables. And then buliding a caluclate NETSALES witha  filter of FROMDATE and TODATE but I keep failing.

I am very new to DAX and am looking for someone to poke me in the right direction.

I basically need the measure that I would create in DATE1 and DATE2 to put into the calculation for the NETSALES. THAT current calculation looks like:

NetSalesSelectedDates = CALCULATE(sum(SAles[LineTotal],filter(sales,Sales[DAte]>= Date1Selection && Sales{Date} <= Date2Selection)))

However, I am having trouble creating a slicer that amounts to Date1Selection and DAte2Selection.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Chris 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@cjc322

We can create one Start Date table and one End Date table for two slicers. Active the relationship between Start Date and Sales, but inactive the relationship between End Date and Sales as below.

123.jpg

1. Create two measures for NETSALES of a DATE (or DATE RANGE) and NETSALES of a COMPARITIVE DATE (or COMPARATIVE DATE RANGE).
    NetSales = 
    SUM ( Sales[LineTotal] )

NetSales_COMPARITIVE = 
    CALCULATE (
        SUM ( Sales[LineTotal] ),
        ALL ( 'Start Date' ),
        USERELATIONSHIP ( Sales[Date], 'End Date'[Date] )
    )

2. Create a measure to show the % INCREASE / DECREASE of NETSALES from DATE vs COMPARITIVE DATE.
    %_INCREASE/DECREASE_Of_NETSALES = 
    DIVIDE ( [NetSales_COMPARITIVE] - [NetSales], [NetSales] )

3. Drag slicers and tables into canvas.
    234.jpg

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Baskar
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar