Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

LinhNguyen
Helper II
Helper II

Customized filter behavior with button/slicer etc

Hi,

I'm new to PowerBI and I'm looking for a way create a custom filter.

I want to create some buttons that would help me apply filters that I want into the dashboard (image below). The idea is to include all records if viewer choose "Yes" in "include bonus" and exclude only the bonus records if they choose "No". I also need the filter to apply to all of my other reports and not just the current one.

If I create a calculated column that has "no" in records that are not bonus and "yes" in records that are bonus, I can create a slicer but that slicer is going to have 3 options (include all/exclude one or the other), however I only want to show users these 2 options of including all or excluding the bonus.

I also tried looking at buttons and bookmarks to change between views, however the bookmark will lead viewer to a separate view and thus all other selections outside of the bookmark button will not be kept.

Is there any way I can do this in PowerBI?

cust filter.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
d_gosbell
Super User
Super User

You could do this by creating a disconnected table with single column with 2 values "YES" and "NO"

Then you could create a measure like the following

Total Amount = 
VAR _includeBonus = SELECTEDVALUE('Include Bonus'[Include Bonus])
RETURN IF(_includeBonus = "NO", CALCULATE( SUM('Table'[Amount]), KEEPFILTERS('Table'[Bonus] = "NO")), SUM('Table'[Amount]))

IncludeExclude.gif

I've attached a copy of my test file to this post if you are interested.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
d_gosbell
Super User
Super User

You could do this by creating a disconnected table with single column with 2 values "YES" and "NO"

Then you could create a measure like the following