Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

nroeder07
Frequent Visitor

Custom Week filter

Sorry if this is a simple question however, I am new to Power BI, Power Query, DAX. I do however have expereince with sql, php, excel, etc.

My company runs a custom sales week Tuesday - Monday. 

I need to be able to filter my reports on Current Week and Previous Week. 

Example Today is Tuesday 10/18. So my current sales week would be 10/18-10/24

My previous sales week would be 10/11-10/17. 

I'm assuming that it will invovle in either (A) creating a custom column in my date table and/or (B) creating a custom date range table.

Thanks for the help. Please give detailed instructions and pretend like you're talking to an English major. This is all new to me. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

This works

EstimateWeek =[Estimate Date Year Number]*100+Date.WeekOfYear([Estimate Date],2)

TodayWeek=Date.Year(DateTime.LocalNow())*100+Date.WeekOfYear(DateTime.LocalNow(),2)

PreviousSalesWeek=if [EstimateWeek]-[TodayWeek]=-1 then 0 else 1

However I'm going to have an issue on the year transition. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi there,

You could look at my data story and the associated blog post, which would enable you to create any periods that you want. Which you could then use to easily filter, as well as create measures.

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Data-Stories-Gallery/Create-Dynamic-Periods-for-Fiscal-or-Calendar-...

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

Anonymous
Not applicable

If we go by option (A)

In your dateTable (or wherever your dates are) enter the following as a calculated column formula:

Custom Week that starts on Tuesdays =
WEEKNUM ( DimDate[Date] - 1; 2 )