Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

101Mathew
Resolver II
Resolver II

Custom Format - via Tabular Editor (thousands)

Hi all - I'm still learning (lots), I'm having trouble getting my calculation group for current and previous year to format in thousands to this £123k, from this (£123,123.00).

I'm sure this is simple to do, but after reading looking online, and see possible solution I'm still unable to resolve. Could I please ask for help?

"£"##0,"k";-"£"##0, does not give the required results

Have I missed something simple, and I being simple?

Thank you for look at this

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @101Mathew ,

If I understand correctly you are setting the format string expression for the Calculation Item? I believe you need to wrap the expression in quotation marks for calculation items - see Matt Allington's blog post as an example https://exceleratorbi.com.au/dynamic-formatting-of-switch-measures/

Where the expression already has quotation marks in it I've had success replacing them with /. So for some calculation items I've had to go from "£"#,0.00;-"£"#,0.00;"£"#,0.00 to "\£#,0.00;-\£#,0.00;\£#,0.00" - I believe this would work in your example if you put the required amount of decimal places in?

Not sure if that's what you are after

Tom

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @101Mathew ,

If I understand correctly you are setting the format string expression for the Calculation Item? I believe you need to wrap the expression in quotation marks for calculation items - see Matt Allington's blog post as an example https://exceleratorbi.com.au/dynamic-formatting-of-switch-measures/