Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Custom Column: Re-using Parameters

I am very new to Power BI, so forgive my novice question!

I know how to create a custom column to convert letter values to number values in a separate column, but there are two problems:

1. The number values are entered as text, and I have to manually tweak the code in the advanced editor to remove the quote marks.
  2. I want to perform the same create column operation on other columns - the only way I have found to do this is to copy the code in advanced editor and tweaking the column references.

I am sure there is a more efficient way of doing this, but I can't quite work it out. Any suggestions? I have a conversion table already set up in an Excel file, if that helps. Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thanks for clarification. You can put a sample file somewhere on internet (e.g. OneDrive) and provide the link.

Anyhow, I would add custom columns and use function Text.PositionOf to convert the text to numbers.

As a final step, you can change the column types to numbers. 

let
    Source = Table1,
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Challenge Score", each Text.PositionOf("USGEO",[Challenge Grade])),
    #"Added Custom1" = Table.AddColumn(#"Added Custom", "Attainment Score", each Text.PositionOf("USGEO",[Attainment Grade])),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Added Custom1",{{"Challenge Score", Int64.Type}, {"Attainment Score", Int64.Type}})
in
    #"Changed Type"

Specializing in Power Query Formula Language (M)

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
MarcelBeug
Community Champion
Community Champion

It's hard to understand your situation and requirements.

The numbers may be text, but why are there quotation marks?