Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Cumulative total by week number

I want to produce a line chart that shows the cumulative count of statuses by week number. I can get it to show the count per week, but I am struggling to change this to show the cumulative amount. This is my line chart at the moment:

Line chart.pngThis is my table:

Table.png

Can anyone help me to get the line chart to show the running total instead of the count per week? (I am new to Power BI!!)

Thanks!

11 REPLIES 11
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi there you should be able to use the following DAX syntax below.

Cumulative Part Sales =

Cumulative Part Sales = 
CALCULATE (
    SUM ( 'Parts Sales Line'[Line Amount] ),
    FILTER (
        ALL ( 'Date'[Date] ),
        'Date'[Date] <= MAX ( 'Parts Sales Line'[Sales Order Created Date] )
    )
)

As long as you have got your relationship between your date table and your fact table, you MUST then drag in the column from the Date Table (Week) and it should display correctly.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi, @Anonymous

In your scenario, use weeknumber as Axis, use statusDescription as Legend and use the below measure as Value

Cumulative Statuses = 
CALCULATE (
SUM( 'Cumulative total'[Coumt]),
FILTER ( ALL( 'Cumulative total' ),'Cumulative total'[weeknumber] <= MAX ( 'Cumulative total'[weeknumber] ) )
)

Best regards,
Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @v-yulgu-msft

I don't have a cumulative total table - do I need to create this?

Thanks,

Heather

Hi, @Anonymous