Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

dave_dingle
Frequent Visitor

Cumulative revenue issue

Hi, require some assistance around cumulative totals.  I'm a relative noob to Power BI but hopefully I've provided enough info.

The issue stems from the fact that our year start is April.  I've created a calendar table and i'm using a key measure for cumalative revenue.  The problem is that revenue for Jan, Feb, Mar is not displaying correctly, it should be added to the totals from December.

The key measure is as follows, I'm guessing this is where the problem may lie  

Cumalative Revenue YTD =
CALCULATE(
[Total Revenue TY],
CALCULATETABLE(
DATESYTD('Calendar'[Date]),
'Calendar'[DatesWithSales] = TRUE
)
)

graph.png

The month order is defined by my calendar table which has a fiscal month number and is working as expected.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you are able to provide.

dave

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi  @dave_dingle ,

First create a calendar table as below:

calendar table = ADDCOLUMNS(CALENDAR("2020-1-1","2021-12-31"),"Month",FORMAT(''[Date],"MMM"))

Then create a relationship between the two tables :

vkellymsft_0-1627030870198.png

And  a measure as below:

Measure = TOTALYTD(SUM('Table'[Revenue]),'calendar table'[Date],ALL('calendar table'),"3/31")

And you will see:

vkellymsft_1-1627030895548.png

For the related .pbix file,pls see attached.

Best Regards,
Kelly

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Ashish_Mathur
Super User
Super User

Hi,

Create a Calendar Table with a relationship from the Date column of your Data Table to the Date column of the Calendar Table.  In the Calendar Table, write calculated column formulas to extract Month Name and Month number.  To extract the Financial Year, write this calculated column formula