Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Mattpar
Frequent Visitor

Cumulative "Year-Week" totals presented on a Line and clustered column chart

Hi,

I am quite new to DAX and having trouble creating two measures that calculate the "cumulative Actual to date" and "cumulative Budget to date" by "Year-Week" .

Trying to sort out the cumulative actual first, I created a measure called "Actual Spent" which is =

SUMX('sampletable','sample table'[Actual(hours)])

Then I found below within other forum posts and tried to modify, but could not make it work as I could not find how to link it to Year-Week column and how to start the totals from 2019-14.

CALCULATE( [Actual Spent], FILTER ( ALL ('sample table' ), ('sample table'[Item Date] <= MAX ( 'sample table'[Item Date] ))

My end goal is to be able to present this on a line and clustered column chart where;

1 -  X axis will be "Year-Week",

2- Column values will be Actual (hours) & Budgeted (hours),

3 - Line graph values will be the cumulative Actual (Hours) & Budgeted (Hours) total, starting from 2019-14 to the latest filtered/presented Year-Week value for a particular discipline.

Below is the sample dataset visual and the graph that I am trying to plot (without the line charts).

While I have granular level data for actuals, my budget values are at weekly summary level, therefore I am working with Year-Week column.

line and clustured column.JPGsample data set.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Mattpar
Frequent Visitor

Thanks for the responses @Icey and @amitchandak 

Without creating a separate dates table, I managed to get the running total's, by using;

CALCULATE( [Actual Spent], FILTER ( ALL ('sample table' ), ('sample table'[Item Date] <= MAX ( 'sample table'[Item Date] ))