Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Cumulative count of Entries and Exits

Hi,

I'm a bit new to Power BI and the community. I will try to be as thorough as possible, but let me know if I need to provide more information.

I have a table (Table1) with one row per sales item. In this table I have two date columns, one for Entry and one for Exit, plus a 'Status' column indicating if the item is sold or not. I then also have a Calendar-table where I have created relationships from 'Calendar'[Date] <- 'Table1'[EntryDate] (this is the active relationship), and from 'Calendar'[Date] <- 'Table1'[ExitDate] (the inactive relationship).

My goal is to create a 'Line and stacked column chart' showing cumulative number of Entries and Exits in current month, having the 'Calendar'[Date] column as the shared X axis. I'm succeeding in creating the cumulative line for Entries, see picture below. My code for cumulative entries looks like this: 

Entries_Cum = 
CALCULATE (
    COUNTROWS ( 'Table1' );
    FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Table1'); 'Table1'[EntryDATE]  <= MAX ('Table1'[EntryDATE]) );

Entries Exits Stock.JPG

But when calling the inactive date relationship (Exits), I fail to create a new line in my chart. My failing code for Cumulative Exits (which should count 20 items by day 20), looks like this: 

Exits_Cum = 
CALCULATE (
    COUNTROWS ( 'Table1' );
    FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Table1'); 'Table1'[ExitDATE]  <= MAX ('Table1'[ExitDATE]) &&
'Table1'[Status] = "Sold" ); USERELATIONSHIP( 'Table1'[ExitDATE]; 'Calendar'[Date] ))

Anyone have an idea what I am doing wrong? In the chart I am using a Relative Date Filtering on the Date variable from the Calendar ('is in this month').