Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Cumulative count based on open and closed date

I have data that represents tickets in a support system, for the sake of simplicity consider 4 columns, ID, Date Opened, Date Closed, Status.

What I'm trying to achieve is to have a table that shows:

1. Tickets opened per month
2. Tickets closed per month
3. Cumulative tickets open by month
4. Cumulative tickets closed by month

any help or suggestions greatly appreciated, I could do this easily in Excel but I'm relatively new to BI / Dax.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous ,

1. Create the yr column:
YO= Year([DateOpened])
YC= Year([DateClosed])

2. Measures as listed :

Tickets opened by year = CALCULATE(SUMX(Table1,DISTINCTCOUNT(Table1[YO])),ALLEXCEPT(Table1,Table1[YO]))
Tickets closed by year = IF(MAX([YC])=BLANK(),BLANK(),CALCULATE(SUMX(Table1,DISTINCTCOUNT(Table1[YC])),ALLEXCEPT(Table1,Table1[YC])))
Cumulative tickets open by year = CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(Table1[ID]),FILTER(ALL(Table1),Table1[DateOpened]<=MAX(Table1[DateOpened])),VALUES(Table1[YO]))
Cumulative tickets closed by year = IF(MAX([DateClosed])=BLANK(),BLANK(),CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(Table1[ID]),FILTER(ALL(Table1),Table1[DateOpened]<=MAX(Table1[DateOpened])),VALUES(Table1[YC])))

1.png

Best regards,

Dina Ye

Community Support Team _ Dina Ye
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more
quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-diye-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

I’ve created a table as below, the status will show Off once ticket closed.  Pbix attached here for your reference: https://wicren-my.sharepoint.com/:u:/g/personal/dinaye_wicren_onmicrosoft_com/ET_34Gzt7mlPj0lSAgH_SMUBo6jOMXICBteSkCtetScB8A?e=kOibQc