Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Cumulative chart

Hi all,

I am new to PowerBI tool and I just wanted to test it for automation of the standard test that I do normally in Excel. 

CURRENT EXCEL SOLUTION

It's quite simple - it's a chart as follows: 

Y axis - monetary value

X axis - month.year  (e.g. 12.2018)

values - number of lines on the chart depends on the number of salesmen. For each month.year X, Y equals to this month sales + cumulative values from previous months

So in result I obtain few cumulative lines on one chart and those lines show me which salesman sales dynamic is the "strongest".

For now, in Excel, I simply make a pivot and then I copy this table to another sheet, then I apply appropriate sum formula and then I just make a line chart of the outcome.

POWERBI MODEL?

The idea behind is to build one file that will draw for me this cumulative chart based on input files (.xls) which I will replace with another set of data for another scope.

Entry data are SAP tables, therefore HEADER table and LINE_ITEM table.

In HEADER I have: 

1. Salesman name
  2. Sales date
  3. Sales order number

In LINE_ITEM table I have:

1. Sales order number
  2. Line items sold (many lines with the same sales order no) 
  3. Value of each line

In excel I just vlookup those three HEADER columns into LINE_ITEM table and the proceed to pivot. 

In PowerBI I have 4 tables loaded:

1. HEADER
  2. LINE_ITEM
  3. Salesman code = name reference
  4. Customer code = name reference