Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

andrew_hardwick
Helper III
Helper III

Cumulative backlog to date

I am trying to create a line graph in Power BI to show the difference between a number of opened tickets vs resolved tickets on a daily basis. I then want to show a line graph of the cumulative data.

I am new to Power BI and whilst I can easily achieve this in Excel, I cannot get what I need. The data is shown below from Excel. The Balance is the difference between Opened and Resolved and then each day it either increases or decreased based on this difference.

DateOpenedResolvedBalance
18/04/2016523517
19/04/2016624732
20/04/20161119152
21/04/201613010379
22/04/201614196124
23/04/201660130
24/04/201681137
25/04/201610880165
26/04/201610188178
27/04/20167371180
28/04/20166955194
29/04/201693100187
30/04/201640191
01/05/201620193
02/05/201631195
03/05/20168597183
04/05/20166898153
05/05/20166075138
06/05/20167380131
07/05/201630134

Capture.PNG

The raw data I have is as below, where the Incident Number is a unique reference

Capture 2.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@andrew_hardwick Couple small changes since there are blank dates...  But you should be set now! Let me know.

Running Total Balance - L&C Chart2.png

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
slapdragon
Frequent Visitor

I would like some help here as well please. I have followed the steps and managed to get the numbers working and used a line graph.

The issue I am facing is that the numbers tend to continue for the future weeks though there is (obviously) no data for those dates.

pbi_backlogs.jpg