Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

amcqueennes
Regular Visitor

Cumulative Totals using inactive relationship

Hi everyone,

Firstly please excuse my ignorance; I am very new to Power BI and DAX and am just learning the ropes. 

I have a model which has one table with a number of measures and dates. This table is like an accumulating snapshot table in Kimball's dimensional modelling; it models a process which has a series of steps and at each step we record a date.

This tables links to a date table via these different dates; in power bi one is active while the others are inactive. 

I am trying to create a measure which performs a cumulative total using an inactive relationship to the date and I am unsure how this is possible to do. 

I have done a cumulative total using an active relationship before like below:

Total Cumulative Scheduled By Date =
CALCULATE (
   SUM ( SDCCN_ENROL_ANALYSIS_TEST[IS_SCH_ENROLMENT] ),
   FILTER (
      ALLSELECTED ( SDCCN_DIM_DATE ),
      SDCCN_DIM_DATE[DATE_NAME] <= MAX ( SDCCN_DIM_DATE[DATE_NAME] )
     )
)

I have also done creating measures across inactive measures using the USERELATIONSHIP function like below:

Total Enrolments =
CALCULATE (
   SUM(SDCCN_ENROL_ANALYSIS_TEST[IS_ENROLMENT]),
   USERELATIONSHIP(
      SDCCN_ENROL_ANALYSIS_TEST[ENROL_DATE_KEY],
      SDCCN_DIM_DATE[SDCCN_DIM_DATE_ID]
   )
)

However I have no idea how to combine them. I believe if I wrote the following then the FILTER function would just use the active relationship. 

Total Cumulative Enrolment By Date =
CALCULATE (
   SUM ( SDCCN_ENROL_ANALYSIS_TEST[IS_ENROLMENT] ),
   USERELATIONSHIP (
      SDCCN_ENROL_ANALYSIS_TEST[ENROL_DATE_KEY],
      SDCCN_DIM_TIME[SDCCN_DIM_DATE_ID]
    ),
    FILTER (
       ALLSELECTED (SDCCN_DIM_DATE),
       SDCCN_DIM_DATE[DATE_NAME] <= MAX( SDCCN_DIM_DATE[DATE_NAME])