Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

balumaran
Frequent Visitor

Cumulative Sum With Slicer

Hi, 

I am fairly new to Power BI and trying to find my ways in . 

I have a requirement to display YTD value ( running sum) on a sales measure with a Month Slicer.  I was able to get the running sum working. However when I select a month in the slicer, I am expecting the running sum to calculate upto the month selected in the slicer, however running sum that I am getting is filtered for the month. 

sum sum.PNG

In the above example, when MArch 2016 is selected in the slicer , I expect the running sum /YTD sales number to show 80 instead I am getting 20. What is the best way to get the value. Appreciate the help.

-M

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Of course!

@mattbrice is right.

In order to get YTD using ALL you need to use this:

YTDSales = CALCULATE([Sales],FILTER(ALL('Business Date'),'Business Date'[Date]<MAX('Business Date'[Date])&&'Business Date'[Year]=YEAR(MAX('Business Date'[Date]))))

or just use this staightforward formula:

YTDSales = TOTALYTD([Sales],'Business Date'[Date])

And make sure you use Date column from your 'Business Date' table in slicer

Michael

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

This should work:

YTDSales = TOTALYTD([Sales],CalendarTable[Date]) 

Also, make sure that you use your CalendarTable Month column in your slicer (NOT the Month from the Fact table)

Michael

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello Michael, 

I have the same problem but with different structure. 

I have two tables:
Extraction table
And a date table

I want to calculate a Cumulative Sum of the business values of the pirate tickets according to the start date column.

I have a slicer that contains the sprint ID.