Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

d904490
Frequent Visitor

Cumulative/Running total for financial year

I have 3 different tables as presented below:

Target , Date, Actual and the excel sheet is the expected result what I'm trying to create. Need quick help how can I do it, I'm very new to power bi, so not able to understand do, I need to create some relationships among the table or can be done without. 

Target.pngActuals.pngDate.pngExpected Result.png

5 REPLIES 5
d904490
Frequent Visitor

I'm replying to myown post. I read through various solutions on runnung total and tried to excute. I came up with solution but it's not looking exactly correct. can anyone help how to fix it. I have created a relationship between the date column of taregts table and date column of actuals table using this measure RunningTotal = CALCULATE(Sum('Actual'[TotalAmount]),FILTER(ALLEXCEPT('Actual','Actual'[TotalAmount]), 'Actual'[TotalAmount] <= MAX(Target[DateDay])))

this is the output i got from this measure - trial solution.png

It's giving me the result from sep 2018 but I have the data from Aug 2018, so it should give the result from Aug not Sep. It might be some minor fix, any quick help is much appreciated. Thanks.

Hi @d904490,

Please try this measure:

RunningTotal = CALCULATE(Sum('Actual'[TotalAmount]),FILTER(ALLSELETED('Actual'), 'Actual'[ColumnDate] <= MAX(Target[DateDay])))

Regards,

Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Thanks Yuliana. But this measure is not giving the blank rows. Table is not showing any values in the Running Total column. The table realtionship is still between Actuals[Date] and Target[DateDay].

Hi @d904490,