Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Cumulative Applications over LY Cumulative Applications

Hi all,

I'm still new to dax/power bi, but am creating a dashboard for our organization that charts applications over time. I'd like be able to compare how many applications we've received to date in the current program year compared to how many applications we've received last year. 

My understanding is that I'd need four key measures- a measure to calculate total applications, total applications LY (using sameperiodlastyear), cumulative applications using calculate([total applications], filter(all selected('calendar'), 'calendar'[date]<='calendar'[date]))), and then the same measure but to calculate LY cumulative applications. 

The issue I'm facing is that when I graph the measures I'm seeing misalignment between calendar years and the year our applications are attached to (program year). Since we hire for the following year and our program has a specific date range, an application that was submitted in August 2018 could be for the 2018-2019 program year that begins in September OR could be for the 2019-2020 beginning in September 2019. In the data set each application is one row and contains both the date it was submitted (as a date) and the program year for which they applied (as text).

In my measures, should I be filtering for using the program year? When I graph the measures and filter by calendar year it does not distinguish between program years so August would show more total applications (since there's no distinguishing between set up in my measure). 

Let me know if I can provide any additional context or clarity, and much appreciate the help! 

-Zach 

4 REPLIES 4
v-cherch-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @Anonymous