Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Creating new table with counts of distinct values; help

Hello all,

I have a table with 30 000 rows.  One column in this row has a string value.  There are only 40 some distinct values that can be in this column.

I want to create a new table, which lists the distinct values in one column, and then in the second column, a count of how many times that value appears.  I am very new to PowerBI, and have looked at perhaps a dozen tutorials and forum posts with no solution...

So far, I have created the new table trying to show the distinct values in the first column:

Table = DISTINCT(Sheet1[StringValue])

My latest attempt to fill the 2nd column with the corresponding counts failed when I tried this:

Column = calculate(countrows(sheet1),allexcept(Sheet1,Sheet1[StringValue]))

Also, I must be missing something fundamental about Tables.  My table is blank until I add that 2nd column.  I assumed that Table = DISTINCT(Sheet1[StringValue]) would return at least one column with data...  but it doesn't.  Only after I add a second column will any data be present.

Thank you in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ok so something like =SUMMARIZE(FILTER(Table1,Table1[StingValue]<>blank()),Table1[StingValue]) should work

// if this is a solution please mark as such. Kudos always appreciated.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Kobur

The following worked for me;

example. Say you have a table Q3, with a column Manufacturer which repeats and you want to create a table called Manufacturers with only Distinct Manufactures and the occurrence of each

Go to "new table" under "modeling" tab

Use the expression below

Manufacturers = SUMMARIZE(Q3, Q3[Manufacturer], "Totals", COUNT(Q3[Manufacturer]))

This will create a table as below