Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Creating new table with counts of distinct values; help

Hello all,

I have a table with 30 000 rows.  One column in this row has a string value.  There are only 40 some distinct values that can be in this column.

I want to create a new table, which lists the distinct values in one column, and then in the second column, a count of how many times that value appears.  I am very new to PowerBI, and have looked at perhaps a dozen tutorials and forum posts with no solution...

So far, I have created the new table trying to show the distinct values in the first column:

Table = DISTINCT(Sheet1[StringValue])

My latest attempt to fill the 2nd column with the corresponding counts failed when I tried this:

Column = calculate(countrows(sheet1),allexcept(Sheet1,Sheet1[StringValue]))

Also, I must be missing something fundamental about Tables.  My table is blank until I add that 2nd column.  I assumed that Table = DISTINCT(Sheet1[StringValue]) would return at least one column with data...  but it doesn't.  Only after I add a second column will any data be present.

Thank you in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ok so something like =SUMMARIZE(FILTER(Table1,Table1[StingValue]<>blank()),Table1[StingValue]) should work

// if this is a solution please mark as such. Kudos always appreciated.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Kobur

The following worked for me;

example. Say you have a table Q3, with a column Manufacturer which repeats and you want to create a table called Manufacturers with only Distinct Manufactures and the occurrence of each

Go to "new table" under "modeling" tab

Use the expression below

Manufacturers = SUMMARIZE(Q3, Q3[Manufacturer], "Totals", COUNT(Q3[Manufacturer]))

This will create a table as below

Manufacturers           Totals