Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Mattlore

Creating a relationship between two queries (Dynamics CRM 2015 Online)

Good afternoon

So I'm relatively new to Power Bi desktop and I'm testing it's reporting functionality against our CRM 2015 online instance and wondering if someone my point me in the right direction.

I have two tables that have an existing relationship in our CRM database

Accounts and Signups.

The shared, unique value between them is the contract number field. Our signup table contains a field called "Agent" which I wish to have in the report (Ex: All accounts signed up by a speciic agent). Note: Agent field does not exist on the account table.

So I know I can create the relationship between them using the report builder, however; we have over 50,000 records in our accounts table, so I want to filter against different data fields that we have on the account table.

So my question is: Is there a way to build the relationship between the two tables during the Query building and have the data update in one table, based on a filter in another.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

OK, so I proved this out and it works. What I did was start out with two CSV files:

one.csv

Column1,Column2
one,10
two,20
three,30
four,40
five,50
six,60
seven,70
eight,80
nine,90

two.csv

Column1,Column2
one,100
two,200
three,300
four,400
five,500
six,600
seven,700
eight,800
nine,900

The "normal" process is to create a query for both one.csv and two.csv, then go and edit one.csv query and add a Merge step to merge two.csv query. With this method, you wind up with 2 queries, the two.csv query is in effect an intermediate query. In the Advanced editor, the code looks like:

two.csv

let
    Source1 = Csv.Document(File.Contents("C:\Temp\two.csv"),[Delimiter=",",Encoding=1252]),