Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

mb_etn
Regular Visitor

Creating a Column/Measure for List Length

I am new to Power BI this week.  I have imported data (from Jira), and I have one column (customfield_10100) which is a List.  I do not care about the list contents, just the list length.  I am hoping to create a new column/measure which will be a basic integer (the length of the list).  I then plan to bucket these counts and put them on a chart or graph (how many 1 lengths, how many 2 lengths, etc.).

What is the best way to do this?

4 REPLIES 4
mb_etn
Regular Visitor

Anyone have any thoughts?  I have come to the conclusion that DAX doesn't support interacting with the 'List' datatype, but correct me if I am wrong.

Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Depends on what you mean by "length". I am assuming you are referring to how many items are in the list. If that is the case, use my special trickiness for this assuming that your items are separated by something like a comma or something:

Column = LEN([List]) - LEN(SUBSTITUTE(List[List],",","")) + 1

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

Ok, I believe I figured out your equation, though it won't do what I need.  If I understand correctly, your equation assumes the Cell contents are a string.  It counts the number of total characters, counts the number of non-comma characters, then takes the difference and adds 1; essentially it counts commas+1 (or a delimiter of your choosing) to get the list elements.