Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

NigelS
Frequent Visitor

Creating Groups of age ranges based on Age calculated from DOB

Hi,

I am quite new to PowerBI and hope someone can give me some ideas on the following...

I have a table of people with DatesOfBirth and need to display the number of people whose age was 0-5years, 6-10years, etc, at a selected period end date, e.g. 31/12/2017. From other posts here I found a method to allow the user input the end-date in a slicer and to dynamically calculate the Age as a measure. So my new measure now shows each persons age on the selected date.

However I can't find any way now to put those ages in a group or a bin, e.g. the 0-5 year-olds etc. It seems that you can't group a measure in this way.

I tried creating a calculated column simply equal to the Age measure and this looked promising, as you can group the values of a calculated column, but when I tried to save the group definitions the window was unresponsive to the OK button.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Nigel

7 REPLIES 7
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @NigelS,

It's hard to reproduce your scenario without sample table, you'd better create sample table and list expected result, so that we can post detailed solution which meet your needs. You can create fake data if your data is private.

Best Regards,
Angelia

Hi @v-huizhn-msft,

Thanks for your response and sorry for the delayed reply.

I have created some sample data as shown below.

The data has 3 columns: ID, Name and Date of Birth (DOB).

Based on the date of birth I want to show hown many people fall in different age brackets on a specific date (period end), e.g. 31/12/17.

So I added a table called Calendar which has just one column with a line per date starting from 1/1/2016 and ending with 31/12/2018.