Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jlie
Advocate I
Advocate I

Create "snapshots" on changing data

Hey!

I'm new to PowerBI and currently evaluating it for a complete roll-out in our company (so only a PowerBI free license, if this matters). I hope you can help me with this issue, because it is pretty critical.

I am looking for a functionality similar to salesforce snapshot reports. We report on some customer segments from our production environment on a weekly basis (not via salesforce, so I cannot implement this as a snapshot in salesforce and then query the snapshot). What I'm doing is basically applying some filters (last login, revenues, last action in plattform, etc) to the user accounts and segment them to A/B/C/etc. However, the filters are too complexe to reproduce the results with today's data. Therefore, I just query the reports on a weekly basis and manually copy the results into my "data table" that feeds my excel report. In excel we report on the trending snapshots per segment, e.g. "100 customers in Week 1", "95 in week 2", 105 in week 3", and so on.

The search found me some threads where one could solve the problem with a calculated column that could backwards calculate how many items were "relevant" at the given time. However, I don't think that this would be feasible, since I can not reproduce the segments from 2 months ago with today's data.

Do you have any idea how I could implement this? Is there a way to create a table for the results and sort of "append" the results of a query with a timestamp of that query? And everytime the query gets executed, it writes the row with the respective timestamp of execution into the table?

Best regards and many thanks for any ideas,

Jannis

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User