Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

VegarOyfoss
Helper I
Helper I

Create new query/table based on content of a column - part 1 - import

Hi All

I am very new to PowerBI and I have found many answers to my questions searching this forum. Howerer, I could not find the answer for my current problem.

I have a table where one of the column specify a particular task (one our of four possibilities - Closed SCTasks, Closed Tickets, Touched Tickets and Effort Time). I would like to create 4 new tables based on the content of this coulmn called "Task". If it says Closed SCTasks, I want all of those rows copied into a new table/quiry where I only have Closed SCTasks/Effot Time and so on.

task.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AlB
Super User
Super User

Hi @VegarOyfoss 

If I understand correctly what you need, you can create 4 calculated tables by filtering the original. For instance for the rows where  Task is Closed SCTasks:

NewTable1 =
FILTER ( Table1, Table1[Task] = "Closed SCTasks" )

Follow the same pattern for the other 3 tables

Please mark the question solved when done and consider giving kudos if posts are helpful.

Cheers  Datanaut

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
AlB
Super User
Super User

Hi @VegarOyfoss 

If I understand correctly what you need, you can create 4 calculated tables by filtering the original. For instance for the rows where  Task is Closed SCTasks:

NewTable1 =
FILTER ( Table1, Table1[Task] = "Closed SCTasks" )

Follow the same pattern for the other 3 tables

Please mark the question solved when done and consider giving kudos if posts are helpful.

Cheers  Datanaut

Hi @AlB