Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Create duplicate rows based on criteria

Hi,

This is my first post and I am very new to Power BI. So any help is appreciated.

I want to duplicate rows of my data, based on certain criteria. My data looks like below (With few more columns). [DAX column] is a calculated column I have created with (if else condition). 

I want to duplicate rows where my period is current period (here for example current period is 5), for all the years in data. So for both 2021 and 2022. But with this, I also want to populate data in my [DAX column] for newly cretaed rows. But that data will not be same as main data.

So I want in total 3 rows for every month data:

Row 1- Where Period-5, Year -2021, [DAX column]: YTD LY

Row 2- Where Period-5, Year -2022 and Indicator- Actual,  [DAX column]: YTD Actual

Row -3 Wherev Period-5, Year -2022 and Indicator- Forecast,  [DAX column]: YTD Forecast

YearPeriodIndicatorDAX column
20211ActualYTD LY
20212ActualYTD LY
20213ActualYTD LY
20214ActualYTD LY
20215ActualMTD LY
20221ForecastYTD Forecast
20222ForecastYTD Forecast
20223ForecastYTD Forecast
20224ForecastYTD Forecast
20225ForecastMTD Forecast
20221ActualMTD Actual
20222ActualMTD Actual
20223ActualMTD Actual
20224ActualMTD Actual
20225ActualMTD Actual

Logic behind [DAX column]:

if
[Fiscal Period]=5 and [Fiscal Year]=2021 then "MTD LY"
else if
[Fiscal Period]=5 and [Fiscal Year]=2022 and [Indicator"]="Actual" then "MTD Actual"
else if
[Fiscal Period]=5 and [Fiscal Year]=2022 and [Indicator"]="Forecast" then "MTD Forecast"

else if
[Fiscal Period]<=5 and [Fiscal Year]=2021 then "YTD LY"

else if
[Fiscal Period]<=5 and [Fiscal Year]=2022 and [Indicator"]="Actual" then "YTD Actual"
else if