cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kbebow Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Create column where there is no relationship between 2 tables

I am new to Power BI.  I have 3 tables:  Table A, Table B, and Table C.  Table A and Table B both have a relationship with Table C but do not have a relationship with each other.  I am trying to figure out how to concatenate 2 fields (one from Table A and one from Table B).  

Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
v-xicai Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Re: Create column where there is no relationship between 2 tables

Hi @kbebow ,

According to your description, I create sample data to test the scenario. You can create measure Concatenate in Table A to meet your demand.

Concatenate = MAX('Table A'[Text])&"-"&MAX('Table B'[Text])

If the Cross filter direction in the relationships which Table A and Table B have with Table C are both Single, return the result like picture below, which concatenate each row value from Table A and Table B.

5.jpg

6.png

While, if there are one or two Both for the Cross filter direction in the relationships which Table A and Table B have with Table C , return the result like picture below, which concatenate only matched row value from Table A and Table B.

7.png

Here is my test pbix: https://qiuyunus-my.sharepoint.com/:u:/g/personal/pbipro_qiuyunus_onmicrosoft_com/EUn5kSNkSoVAh48ErN...

Best Regards,

Amy

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

2 REPLIES 2
v-xicai Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Hi @kbebow ,

According to your description, I create sample data to test the scenario. You can create measure Concatenate in Table A to meet your demand.

Concatenate = MAX('Table A'[Text])&"-"&MAX('Table B'[Text])