Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Create bar chart by aggregating on string values

I am new to PowerBI and I need to create 2 visualization(bar chart) which will show the following:

Chart1--- 3 bars for each of the tag strings(alpha, beta, gama) and the count of customers for each tag string(alpha=5, beta=4, gama=4).

Chart2 --- 3 bars for each of the tag strings(alpha, beta, gama) and the total of value for each tag string(alpha=160, beta=90, gama=100).

Please, help me with how to get this two charts with tutorial. Thanks in advance.

Capture.PNG

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@Anonymous , You can split the column using row split

https://www.tutorialgateway.org/how-to-split-columns-in-power-bi/

Or create a new table in power query using customer and Tags and then split in a new table and join back with customer id.

1. Copy the table and remove columns

2. Select column, Right-click last option, create a new query, and convert to a table.

View solution in original post

MFelix
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous ,

Follow the steps below:

• Select the column Tags
  • Split columns
  • Advance Rows:

MFelix_0-1596457347668.png

Now just do the charts with the tags on the axis.

MFelix_1-1596457463669.png

Check PBIX file attach and code below:

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WclTSUXLMKchI1FFwSi1JBPIMDZRidaKVnGASQNoIIuQMZEIVQUVcgEz3xFwkba4I86ASxhAJN1SL4NJQk9yhZsPFTSDiHkjOsAAKxQIA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Customer = _t, Tags = _t, Value = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Customer", type text}, {"Tags", type text}, {"Value", Int64.Type}}),