Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dickvankl
Frequent Visitor

Create a relationship between two tables with a calculated column based on the same table

Hello,

I have the following issue. I have a table with all subscriptions (Abonnementen) and a table with all online use (Epaper gebruik dagb.). In both tables a relationship number is present, so a many to many relation is possible, because one relation can have as well multiple subscriptions as multiple times of online usage.

I created a calculated column that (based on start and end date of the subscription in the subscription table) indicates which subscription number the online usage is related to. Now I would like to create a relationship on subcription number (to have a 1 to many relationship), but I can't delete the relation on relationship number, because the calculated column subscription number in the online usage table depends on the relationship on relationship number. Does anyone know how I can solve this?

Relationship between tables.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Sorry, I made a mistake. I thought that the calculated column subscription number depended on the relationship on relationship number between the twp tables, but that was not the case. I could just create a relationship on subscription number.

Thank you for your help and sorry for the mistake.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Would need to see some sample data to understand what you are doing here. But, as you are probably aware, Many 2 Many = bad

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)