Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Mattr_TEM
Frequent Visitor

Create a measure that filters a status column by the latest date

Hello,

I am a newbie to powerbi and especially DAX.  I have a database that we use to keep track of the inventory of our rentable gear. I am trying to create a measure that will give the most recent status of the unit; Rented, Ready to Rent, Check Unit, Do Not Rent, Not Tracked, Unknown.

I have a look up table - EquipmentStatus.

Equipment Status Table.JPG

And a data table - EquipmentList:

Equipment List Table.JPG

I would like to create a measure that gives me the latest(CreateTS) status(EquipmentStatusID) of each unique unit(TagNumber). 

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

4 REPLIES 4
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Mattr_TEM,

You can try to use below formula if it suitable for your requirement.

Measures:

LastTs=
var currentTag=LASTNONBLANK(Table[TagName],[TagName])
return
MAXX(FILTER(ALL(Table), Table[TagName]=currentTag),[CreateTS])

LastStatus=
return
LOOKUPVALUE(Table[EquipmentStatusID],Table[TagName],currentTag,Table[CreateTS],[LastTs])

Regards,
Xiaoxin sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

Thank you so much for replying. Like I said in my post I am very new to DAX.  I have a few questions about the code you posted:

//This is creating a measure for the last time stamp named LastTS
LastTs= //This creates a varchar currentTag field based on the the last non blank row on the Table[TagName], Column [TagName]
var currentTag=LASTNONBLANK(Table[TagName],[TagName]) //This returns the value of the currentTag based on the MAX CreateTS.
return MAXX(FILTER(ALL(Table), Table[TagName]=currentTag),[CreateTS])