Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Create a dynamic time period and use as axis in graph

Hi

I am new to DAX and Power Query. I need to create a stacked bar chart where the axis is time periods. It is easy to put in Year, Month, date etc., but I need to create a new time period to put into the axis in the graph, that changes based on the filtering option. Here is my example:

I have a time filter on my report, which the report viewer is able to change depending on what time period is relevant.

CaptureTimeFilter.JPG

My problem is, that when I try to setup the graph, following issues arise:

Issue 1: 

When I set up the stacked bar shart the filter only allows to show the composition between the two atributes for the given time period. I need to be able to compare this composition to the same time period last year. I try to correct for that in issue 2.

CaptureStackedFilteredBySlicer.JPG

Issue 2: 

If I use "Year" as axis slicer and switch off the interaction between the time period slicer, I get values for each year. But the problem is, that it does not follow the chosen time period in the filter. 

CaptureStackedWithYears.JPG

My need is to set up the stacked bar chart with time periods to compare the composition of red vs. black.

I need to compare 3 periods:

1. The first time period needs to be the same as the one selected in the time filter. Name example: Current period

2. The next time period needs to be "same period last year" based on "Current period". Name example: Current period-1

3. The last time period needs to be "same period last year" based on "Current period-1". Name example: Current period-2

Is this possible?

Thank you in advance, it would be of great help if anyone knows how to do this 🙂

Kr. Katjabpk

4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable