Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

SteveD2
Resolver I
Resolver I

Create a Reference Layer in Arcgis for use in Power BI

Hi there,

I'm hoping someone can help me or point me in the right direction. I have an ArcGIS Premium Subscription, and I know I can add custom reference layers via public ArcGIS reference layers. However, what I am finding difficult is the ability to build a custom reference layers to include in the ArcGis public content.

To explain, I have a map shapefile of Postcodes and I wish to add data to the shapefile such as Categorisation (text) and Population (Integer) for each of the postcodes... how do you edit a shapefile to add data?

Any suggestions or guidance would be appreciated.

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

It appears the ability to create a reference layer is not part of the Power BI premium subscription and requires an ArcGis Online subscription.

View solution in original post

danamaya

Thank you for this. it is precisely what I've been looking for. I had gotten to the stage where I had given up on ArcGis and moved over to Mapbox... the same problem though. I find it amazing that I spent time on their forums asking the question on "How to" and I'd never get the answer I was looking for. It's as though this was something novel I was asking for.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
danamaya

See this link: https://dataveld.com/2016/10/02/how-to-add-your-own-arcgis-reference-layer-for-power-bi/

I hope this is what you are looking for.

Thank you.