Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jt024
Frequent Visitor

Create Table based on another table according to criteria

hi there,

I'm new to PBI and I'm hoping someone here can help me please.

I have a table coming into PBI with the following structure:

ItemDate1Date2Date3
11/1/20202/5/20203/6/2020
12/2/20205/5/2020 
22/24/20205/31/20206/6/2020
31/20/20203/6/2020 
32/14/20203/12/20205/5/2020
36/3/2020  
45/7/2020  

I would like to create a table based on the above that looks like this:

ItemDate1Date2Date3
12/2/20205/5/2020 
22/24/20205/31/20206/6/2020
36/3/2020  

So basically in the second table:

1. Item has to be unique

2. The rules for selecting the dates for Date1, Date2 and Date3 columns are:

- If the item has multiple dates, select the latest date and place that on the table. (for example, in Item 1 in the first table, Item 1 appears twice and there are dates for each in Date1 column, then select the latest date. Same as Date2, there are 2 dates so select the latest date. But in Date3 column, only one has a date so ignore this / show no value).

- If the item has no date , then no value is shown

- If the item appears more than once and one of them has no date, then no value is shown (for example, in Item 4 in the first table, Item 4 appears twice but in the date1 column there is only 1 date filled out instead of two, then no date should be shown).

How do I get Table 2 in PowerBI? Should I do this in PowerQuery (M formula?) or Dax?

Can someone please point me in the right direction? 

Thank you in advance for your help. It is greatly appreciated.

~N~

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mahoneypat
Employee
Employee