Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

arobin
Frequent Visitor

Create Connection: This query contains transformations that cannot be used for live connection

I am very new to Power BI and I am not familiar with the message I encountered when trying to make a DirectQuery connection to SQL Server. Can anyone advise what does "Create Connection: This query contains transformations that cannot be used for live connection" means? I was trying to get a live data in SQL Server using SQL statement below.

select a.PAYMENT_TYPE, count(a.PAYMENT_TYPE)
from VENDOR_ACCOUNTS a,
(select * from VENDOR_Keys where RemoteSystem='ECC_VENDOR') b
where a.InternalId=b.InternalId
GROUP BY a.PAYMENT_TYPE
order by a.PAYMENT_TYPE

when I  cliked on load data the said mesage appeared.

is there something wrong in my query that affects the live connection?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @arobin,

Could you please test using a simple SQL statement? You can create a simple table named TableA in your database, then type the basic query statement using like: select * from TableA in Direct Query model, check if it works. Some function is not used in Direct Query model. If it works fine, it will document the function is unable. You'd better test step by step.

If the function is not used, please create a new result table, then import them to Power BI. If you have any issue, please let me know.

Best Regards,
Angelia 

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
hiralsoni_001
Frequent Visitor

Hi everyone,

I am not able to connect a direct query from sql to power bi

it shows 'this query contains transformations that can't be used for a live connection'

Can you please help. Basic query like select * , I am able to run not a big query contains many tables in it. I tried the query in SQL server , it works and results came too.

Thanks in advance.