Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

escarzl1
Frequent Visitor

County and Numerical Labels in ArcGIS Map Visual | Power BI

Hello, I am fairly new to expermenting with arcGIS on Power BI and I was hoping to get some help.

I am looking for a way to show a County color coded map based on the Number of Applications, and show County's name AND a Numerical Value (Number of applications) as the labels. It seems I can only do one label, not both at the same time. I don't want to rely on "Tooltips" because this report will be exported as a PDF and sent to many users as part of a newsletter, so hovering over a county won't mean anything once exported.

My table is structured this way:

Agency Name

Staff Name

Application Type

Zip Code

County
Agency Name 1Staff 1Type 198409Pierce
Agency Name 1Staff 1Type 298408Pierce
Agency Name 1Staff 2Type 398409Pierce
Agency Name 1Staff 2Type 298409Pierce
Agency Name 1Staff 2Type 298115King
Agency Name 1Staff 3Type 298040King
Agency Name 2Staff 4Type 398070King
Agency Name 2Staff 4Type 298012Snohomish
Agency Name 2Staff 4Type 198270Snohomish
Agency Name 2Staff 4Type 198270Snohomish

I created a measure that counts the number of applications:

Count of Applications = COUNTA('Table'[Agency Name])

Then I tried to create a measure that concatenates the [County], a line break and the [Count of Applications], but it doesn't work and I think it has to do with the fact that the count is a calculation and that there are many values in the County column.

My next step was to try creating a calculated column:

MapLabels = 
'Table'[County]&"
"&CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Count of Applications]), ALLEXCEPT('Table','Table'[Agency Name]))

This actually worked visually but all the numbers are wrong.