Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

russm
Helper I
Helper I

Counting unique text occurrences across multiple columns?

I am new to DAX and to Power BI. I’m working with an existing qualitative data set and I need to count the occurrences of unique text values across multiple columns. The existing data set used a controlled vocabulary based on a simple dictionary table.

In my data, I have several thousand records sort of like this:

Comment

Comment_Code_01

Comment_Code_02

Comment_Code_03

Comment_Code_04

I like things that fly but not things that crawl. If it has scales, I don't mind if it swims but I don’t want anything to do with it if had legs.

Likes birds

Hates bugs

Likes fish

Hates reptiles

I don’t like things that fly but I do like things that crawl.     If it has scales, I don’t mind if it has legs but I can't stand it if it swims.

Hates birds

Likes bugs

Hates fish

OK with reptiles

I don’t like anything living but I do like wood carvings of things that crawl.

Hates all creatures

Likes facsimiles of creatures

I only like birds. Well, I kind of like beetles too.

Likes birds

OK with some bugs

I hate everything living except for fish.

Only likes fish

The dictionary is about 900 records and looks something like this:

Comment_Code

Sentiment

Category

Likes Birds

Positive

Birds

Hates birds

Negative

Birds

Hates all creatures

Negative

Global

Only likes fish

Positive

Fish

Hates bugs

Negative

Insects

Likes bugs

Positive

Insects

Positive

Nonliving

OK with some bugs

Neutral

Insects

Likes fish

Positive

Fish

Hates fish

Negative

Fish

Hates reptiles

Neutral

Reptiles

OK with reptiles

Positive

Reptiles

I need to produce a report that looks something like:

Theme

Count

Likes Birds

Hates birds

Hates all creatures

Only likes fish