Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Counting the results from a measure

Hi

I'm new to Power Bi so please excuse me if my question is vague or doesn't make any sense at all, I'm still learning.

I am currently writing a report looking at brand purchased by customers.  I have a measure which returns the amount of distinct brands a customer purchases ie 1,2,3,4.  In my matrix I have customer number and the count of brands they have bought.

The measure is as follows

distinctcountbrand = CALCULATE (

DISTINCTCOUNT (Sales[brand]),

CALCULATETABLE (Sales, Sales[Customer No.]))

I have verified the results against the main sales table and the results from the measure appear to be OK.

However, my client also wants another matrix displaying how many customers bought 1 distinct brand, 2 distinct brand etc.  I am at a loss where to start.  I have tried filtering on the measure where the value equals 1,2,3,4 etc but the results are wrong. I am literally stabbing in the dark here because of my lack of knowledge.  I would be extremely grateful for any advice for this newbie PowerBi person!

Many thanks

3 REPLIES 3
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @Anonymous,

You can create a calculated column using the formula.

Distinct brand for one customer = CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(Table[Brand]),ALLEXCEPT(Table,Table[Customer No]))

Than create a slicer including Table[Distinct brand for one customer]. And create a interaction between the slicer and your report including customers.

When you select 1 in slicer, it will display all the customers who bought 1 distinct brand, it will show all customers who bought disticnt 2 brands seperately and so on.

If you have other issues, please feel free to ask.

Best Regards,

Angelia

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Angelia,