Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Aquatophana

Counting the number of occurence in a filtered table

Hello !

I am pretty new to powerbi, so forgive me for not using the proper expressions (apologies too for my English, I am not a native English speaker)

I am having headache trying to solve an issue.

I want to count the number of time a given person (column [Name]) answered to a question  (column [Date.answers]) after a certain date.

So i tried to do the following :

1 - First i created a new filtered table which is only showing up the last answers given by each person

Last answers = SUMMARIZE(FILTER(CROSSJOIN(Query1;'Lastestanswers'); Query1[Name]='Lastestanswers'[Column 2] && Query1[Date.answers]='Latestanswers'[Date.answers]); Query1[Name]; Query1[Date.answers])

2 - Then, i wanted to count the number of occurences the name of each person appears and at the same time only count the answers given after a certain date. I can already get this number when I want to vizualise those data using filtering and suche, but i want to have it as a measure so i can cross that data.

Number of time each name appeared (so preventing the name of those who did not answer to be counted) = COUNTX(FILTER('Last answers';('Last answers'[Date.answers]>DATE(XXXX;XX;XX)))

The first expression gives me the result i want, the second otherwise shows that there is a problem. I tried to add a countrows but it didn't work.

Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @v-yulgu-msft, thanks for replying.

I have found a solution using the Group By function which is working fine for my needs. I could not provide any sample data as the one I am using are confidential, but I will make sure in the future to give more information regarding my needs.

Thanks again

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4