Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dusdau
Helper II
Helper II

Counting rows where date column falls within the last year

Hi All,

DAX newbie here, trying to do what seems like it should be a simple measure.  I have a table ('Market Share') that has a column of dates (LastModified), which has a relationship to my date table ('Dates'). Date is my date key column. I simply want to count the rows in the Market Share table where the LastModified column is within the last year.

It seems like this should do the trick, but its not returning anything:

UpdatedLastYear = CALCULATE(COUNTROWS('Market Share'), DATESBETWEEN('Dates'[Date],NEXTDAY(SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR(LASTDATE('Dates'[Date]))),LASTDATE('Dates'[Date])))

Can anyone tell what I'm missing?

Thanks,

Dustin

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ok, it wasn't the null values.  I think it was an issue with Date/Time format of the column.  I changed both the Market Share table and the Date table to 'Date' and it works.  Thanks for your help Ross!

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

UpdatedLastYear = CALCULATE(
	COUNTROWS('Market Share'),	
	DATESINPERIOD(
		'Dates'[Date], 
		TODAY(), 
		MONTH
	)
)

Give this a try

Thanks Ross....same thing though...not returning anything

pbi.PNG

Anonymous
Not applicable

Can you try this for me:  Lets separate the countrows out into its own measure. So you have:

CountMeasure = COUNTROWS('Market Share')

UpdatedLastYear = CALCULATE(
	[CountMeasure],	
	DATESINPERIOD(
		'Dates'[Date], 
		TODAY(), 
		MONTH
	)
)

Thanks again Ross.  The count measure is working fine, but there must be something wrong with the way the measure is evaluating dates as that part is not working.  It doesn't return anything.  I realized my Dates table was not marked as a date table, but marking that didn't fix it.