Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MichaelBauld
Frequent Visitor

Counting rows between dates in different columns

Hi there,

I’m trying to track the number of active members over time by using two different date columns within a single fact table:

1. [Valid From]
  2. [Cancelled At]

FYI The membership fact table is related to a calendar table with an active relationship between [Valid From] and [Calendar Date] and inactive relationships between a couple of other dates, including [Cancelled At].

I’m still new to Power BI so my initial thought was I would need to create a calculated column alongside the date range and have each row evaluate the number of rows within the membership fact table which meet the following criteria:

[Calendar Date] >= [Valid From] && <= [Cancelled At]  

OR

[Calendar Date] >= [Valid From} && [Cancelled At] = BLANK.

This would then allow me to select any date from my calendar table and return the active membership count at that time. The only problem is I haven’t been able to figure out how to do a count between dates across two different columns as well as nesting the OR statement to cater for memberships that are still active. 

Any help in how to do this would be extremely useful!

Kind regards

Michael

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @MichaelBauld ,

Please add a [index] column for 'Member_Warehouse' table and change the relationship status to Active.

vcgaomsft_1-1647598882392.png

vcgaomsft_0-1647598822077.png

Then create a measure.

Current Employees = 
CALCULATE (
    COUNTX (
        FILTER (
            'Member_Warehouse',
            'Member_Warehouse'[validfrom] <= MAX ( 'Date Table'[Date] )
                && (
                    ISBLANK ( 'Member_Warehouse'[End Date] )