Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Counting Instances of an ID from another table

Hey All,

I have two tables. One includes headcount information, and the other includes records of classes taken by the people in the headcount table. I want to created a visual that shows what percentage of employees have completed 25%, 50%, 75%, or 100% of available classes. 

I am trying to figure out if I should do this in a column or a measure. However I am fairly new to Power BI and can;t think of a formula for either. I am thinking I would need to do it in a column so that i could then perform a count of employees that completed a certain number of classes.

Does anyone have thoughts on what the correct way to do this would be?

Thanks 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-lili6-msft
Community Support
Community Support

hi, @Anonymous

First, you should know difference between measure and column, here are two blogs for you learn:

https://www.sqlbi.com/articles/calculated-columns-and-measures-in-dax/

https://www.blue-granite.com/blog/understanding-the-differences-between-calculated-columns-measures-in-power-bi

Even if they look similar, there is a big difference between calculated columns and measures. The value of a calculated column is computed during data refresh and uses the current row as a context; it does not depend on user interaction in the report. A measure operates on aggregations of data defined by the current context, which depends on the filter applied in the report – such as slicer, rows, and columns selection in a pivot table, or axes and filters applied to a chart.

At this point, you might be wondering when to use calculated columns over measures. Sometimes either is an option, but in most situations your computation needs determine your choice.