Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Countif for 50 country columns to show sum of each country

Hi, i'm a complete newbie to visualizations. I have 50 columns that I want do a countif on. In excel I can easily do this with a countif on all the columns (I already have a list of countries). I looked through a lot of solutions and unfortunately I don't seem to understand how to do this in Power BI. I am using Power BI Version 2.85.985.0 64-bit.

If someone can explain this to me like a 5 year old, I would really appreciate!

6 REPLIES 6
jthomson
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Will be much, much easier if you clean the data up - unpivot all the columns so rather than having one row with 50 columns, you get 50 rows with two columns (one with the country, one with the value) - it's then a pretty simple countrows measure from there with whatever criteria you'd have been countifing on before

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi jthomson, perhaps I didn't explain clear on my end. Here is what the data looks like (but for 50 columns):

HAA_1113_0-1602856866933.png

each row is a business entity. The original data set had one column with each cell as all countries separated by a semi colon. I had to split that into multiple columns to get an accurate count of each country. 

I guess there are two things I need to do: get a unique list of all the countries that appear in all these columns, and get a count of them.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Perhaps there is another way to organize this data. I could import a second table with list of countries and count of each country; However, I don't see how I could connect it back to my original data set. Open to all suggestions!

Hi @Anonymous ,

Is this not what you want?

v-lionel-msft_0-1603097802160.pngv-lionel-msft_1-1603097816574.png