Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

m_aa
Advocate I
Advocate I

Count the number of repeated orders

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Power BI and have some issues with DAX, hope I'll find help here.

What I aim to do is to show the total number of orders in chosen period and how much of them are from returning customers. Both are shown in card visuals. I have no problems with total quantity, however repeated orders...

Here's an example of my data. Basically all fields I need are UserID, Order Number, and Date of Purchase

m_aa_0-1643020446150.png

The result I expect to get is two cards, one of them shows value 25 (the total amount of orders) and 22 (number of repeated orders).

What I managed to do is to define order index number by customer with RANKX function:

rank measure = RANKX(FILTER(ALLSELECTED('OrderTable'),'OrderTable'[USER_ID]=SELECTEDVALUE('OrderTable'[USER_ID])),CALCULATE(SELECTEDVALUE('OrderTable'[ACCOUNT_NUMBER])),,ASC,Dense)

Which leads to this:

m_aa_1-1643021015896.png

The reason I use Account Number as a value instead of date is because there might be few orders in one day which would affect the rank number. I also need a rank to be a measure, not a column, because it should be sensitive to date filter which now works perfectly.

However, I can't use this measure in card filter (don't know why exactly, it's just unavailable when I put the measure in filter field). I tried to make flag measure, something like

flag = IF('rank measure'>1,1,0)

(also tried text values instead of 0 and 1) and use it in filter, but it didn't work either. 

Does anyone know why are these measure are not applicable in filters? Is there a way to make it work? Or do I need completely different approach to this case?

Any help is much appreciated!

Kind regards,

Nastia

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION