Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Count inconsistency in graphic

This Question has been better presented in a new forum post:

Count inconsistency in graphic - Clarified Questio... - Microsoft Power BI Community

Please go there if you are interested in this discussion as the discussion here is incomplete

I am very new to BI and data analysis in general. I searched the forums for topics addressing this specific question, but I couldn’t find anything.  I apologise if I missed an existing thread. I understand that the database structure I am working with is not that great, but I cannot edit the database.

My post seems to not be visable in the forum - I cannot see it in the topic list -so I am trying again - apologies if it suddenly shows up twice.

A discription of the database is below, followed by my question in bold.

Let’s say I am working with a database that records a collection of paintings and the colors found in each. There are 4 tables:

Table 1:

PaintingIDPaintingName
1Painting 1
2Painting 2
3Painting 3
4Painting 4
5Painting 5

Table 2: (this table links together paintings and colors in the painting)

PaintingIDColorID

Table 3

ColorIDColorNameCategoryID
1.1Blue1
1.2Green1
1.3Purple1
2.1Red2
2.2Orange2

Table 4:

CategoryIDCategoryName
1Cool Colors
2Warm Colors

The problem:

I have two figures.

One is working as I would like. It is a doughnut chart with Legend: ColorName and Values: count of PaintingID

With it I can see the most prevalent color used in the painting collection.

The purpose of the second figure that I am having an issue with is to see which category is more prevalent. I created a bar chart with Axis: CategoryName, Legend: ColorName, and Value Count of PaintingID.

The problem is that the program is counting ColorName and CategoryName differently.