Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Count if match on related table

This is my first post as I am new to Power BI....so be gentle!

I have a Power BI "dashboard" table with shipments with two queries.  The first query returns the open header records identified by a unique shipment ID.  The second query returns shipping detail records for items on each on each shipment.

On the summary dashboard I have related the two tables using the shipment ID.  I added a measure the second query that counts the number of detail records.  This field "No. of items" shows on the summary dashboard.  The measure DAX formula is: No of Items = COUNTROWS(RELATEDTABLE(AHW_BI_IN_TRANSIT)).

The summary dashboard has an extra blank row with a count of shipping detail records that do not have a shipping ID on the summary dashboard.  

I've tried DISTINCTCOUNT but that not does return the expected result.

Any help you provide is appreciated.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
mahoneypat
Employee
Employee

FYI that there is also a DISTINCTCOUNTNOBLANK( ) function you could use in its place.

If this works for you, please mark it as solution.  Kudos are appreciated too.  Please let me know if not.

Regards,

Pat

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Kudos are also appreciated!

To learn more about Power BI, follow me on Twitter or subscribe on YouTube.

@mahoneypa HoosierBI on YouTube

View solution in original post

Hi @Anonymous ,

Please try to update the formula of measure "No of Items" as below:

No of Items = 
IF (
    NOT ( ISBLANK ( MAX ( 'Shipping Summary'[SM_NUMBER] ) ) )
        && TRIM ( MAX ( 'Shipping Summary'[SM_NUMBER] ) ) <> "",
    COUNTROWS ( RELATEDTABLE ( 'Shipping Detail' ) )
)

And if the total value is not correct, you can create another new measure: