Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

pawelk3
Helper I
Helper I

Count dates for the month and accumulate values

Hi,

I have a table looks like below:

pawelk3_2-1597170536183.png

I need to create a graph that will show the cumulative value of sales in each month of the year - X axis (... 12.2018, 01.2019, 02.2019, 03.2019), Y axis (number of products sold plus value from all previous months). The table shows the number of products, no date means that the product has not been sold yet.

pawelk3_1-1597170424576.png

In addition, I have a slicer on the dashboard that filters based on the product group. So after selecting a specific product group, the chart should only show sales for that group.

I am pretty new in Power BI. I am asking for help because I have been struggling with it for some time and all solutions that I found did not bring the desired result.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
dedelman_clng
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @pawelk3  - 

Start by creating a Date table

DateTab = ADDCOLUMNS ( CALENDARAUTO(), "Year", YEAR([Date]), "Month", MONTH([Date]))

Make a relationship between the date table and your data

2020-08-11 14_02_05-N_and_BASE_problem (3) - Power BI Desktop.png

Create a new measure Cumulative Sales

Cumulative Sales = TOTALYTD(COUNT(Products[ContractDate]), DateTab[Date])

This will automatically recalculate the total if a Group is selected

All:

2020-08-11 14_04_13-N_and_BASE_problem (3) - Power BI Desktop.png

Group G1

2020-08-11 14_04_57-N_and_BASE_problem (3) - Power BI Desktop.png

Hope this helps

David

View solution in original post

Oops Sorry!  🙁  Put a parenthesis in the wrong place (remove the one directly after the first instance of DateTab[Date] on the last row, move it to the end of that row).

Cumulative Sales =
CALCULATE (
    COUNT ( Products[ContractDate] ),