Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

stockturner
Regular Visitor

Copy selected text from description column and place into separate columns

Hi PowerBi Team,

I'm new to Power Bi and going through my first project which relates to stock and options trading data from the broker.    I need some help to place certain elements of the description field into separate fields so I can do further work.

Sample data in description

tIP BOT +2 AMZN @1530.15
BOT +5 DIS @101.26
AUTO_Btrends BOT +4 AAPL 100 (Weeklys) 9 MAR 18 172.5 CALL @6.60
tIP SOLD -14 V 100 (Weeklys) 23 MAR 18 125 CALL @1.00 PHLX
tIP BOT +2 1/2 BACKRATIO V 100 (Weeklys) 23 MAR 18 124/123 PUT @.26 ISE
tIP SOLD -6 1/-2/-1/2 CUSTOM DIS 100 18 MAY 18/18 MAY 18/13 APR 18/13 APR 18 100/95/104/103 PUT/PUT/PUT/PUT @2.34 CBOE

Sample Output that I need

Order SourceSideQtyRatioComboTypeSymbolFactorSeries TypeMultiExpExp DateMultiStrikeStrikeMultiTypeTypePriceExchange
tlPBOT2  AMZN        1530.16 
 BOT5  DIS        101.26 
Auto_BtrendsBOT4  AAPL100Weeklys 3/9/2018 172.5 Call6.6 
tlpSOLD-14  V100Weeklys 3/23/2018 125 Call1PHLX
tlPBOT21/2Back RatioV100Weeklys 3/23/2018124/123  Put0.26ISE
tlpSOLD-61/-2/-1/2CustomDIS100 18 MAY 18/18 MAY 18/13 APR 18/13 APR 18 100/95/104/103 PUT/PUT/PUT/PUT 2.34CBOE

As you can see, not every sample output field is available in every row of source data.   I've done this before in excel, by filtering on the description, and then writing formulas for those particular layouts,  I keep filtering until all of the applicable columns have been broken out.  I keep the original field for some reporting and as a control, but need to do other steps using the info presented.

I'm at a loss at how to do this in PowerBi.    Any suggestions appreciated.

Thanks

John

2 REPLIES 2
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@stockturner,