Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ska1903
Frequent Visitor

Converting elapsed time stored as text to minutes

Hi,

I am very new to power Bi so this is probably a very simple question...

I have a column of time elapsed (duration) in the format hh:mm:ss that i need to convert to total minutes. I have tried changing the data type to duration but this fails as some of the records have an hour value over 24. e.g

Time Elapsed
06:55:57
07:28:01
24:27:47
02:46:58
00:47:52
01:09:11
16:58:21
03:14:48
185:14:26
110:15:29

Is there a way to get this data into a new column with just the duration in minutes, then I  think I can convert to days, hours, minutes. 

Thanks, 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MarcelBeug
Community Champion
Community Champion

Tab Add Column - Duplicate Column

Select duplicated column - Tab Transform - Split Column - By delimiter (colon, each occurrence)

(This will automatically add a "Changed Type" step).

Tab Add Column - Custom Column, formula = 60 * [#"Time Elapsed  - Copy.1"] + [#"Time Elapsed  - Copy.2"]

Remove columns that are no longer required

Adjust data type of "Minutes" to Whole Number.

Generated code (the first step is because I did it in Excel Power Query):

let
    Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Table1"]}[Content],
    #"Duplicated Column" = Table.DuplicateColumn(Source, "Time Elapsed ", "Time Elapsed  - Copy"),
    #"Split Column by Delimiter" = Table.SplitColumn(#"Duplicated Column", "Time Elapsed  - Copy", Splitter.SplitTextByDelimiter(":", QuoteStyle.Csv), {"Time Elapsed  - Copy.1", "Time Elapsed  - Copy.2", "Time Elapsed  - Copy.3"}),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Split Column by Delimiter",{{"Time Elapsed  - Copy.1", Int64.Type}, {"Time Elapsed  - Copy.2", Int64.Type}, {"Time Elapsed  - Copy.3", Int64.Type}}),